The SLAS Fellow Member Program


The SLAS Fellow Member Program launched in 2016 to recognize the exceptional contributions of SLAS’s most valued contributors. SLAS Fellow Members represent the epitome of SLAS as a mission-driven organization that focuses on serving life sciences professionals via practitioner-driven knowledge, education and peer-to-peer connections.

SLAS Fellow Members

*2021 new members

Michelle Arkin, Ph.D.*
University of California - San Francisco

Ellen Berg, Ph.D.
DiscoverX Corporation

Marc Bickle, Ph.D.
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

Roger Bosse, Ph.D.
BioSignal2 Inc.

John Thomas Bradshaw, Ph.D.

Robert Campbell, Ph.D.
Twentyeight-seven Therapeutics

Anne Carpenter
Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT

Taosheng Chen, Ph.D.
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Edward Kai-Hua Chow, Ph.D.
National University of Singapore

Sue Holland-Crimmin, Ph.D.

Malcolm Crook, Ph.D.
Peak Analysis & Automation Ltd.

Sammy Datwani, Ph.D.
Labcyte, Inc.

Emilio Diez Monedero, Ph.D.*

Hakim Djaballah, Ph.D.
Keren Therapeutics

Alain Donzel, Ph.D.
Scitec Research S.A.

Richard M. Eglen, Ph.D.
Corning Life Sciences

Richard Ellson
Labcyte Inc.

Frank Fan, Ph.D.*
Promega Corporation

Haian Fu Ph.D.
Emory University

Ralph Garippa
Memorial Sloan-Kettering

Jay Gill, Ph.D.
Bristol-Myers Squibb

J. Fraser Glickman, M.S.P.H., Ph.D.
The Rockefeller University

Marcie Glicksman, Ph.D.

Alexander Godfrey, Ph.D.*
Automated Chemistry, National Center For Advancing Translational Sciences

Peter Grandsard

Clive Green

Philip Gribbon
Fraunhofer IME

Steven Hamilton, Ph.D

David Herold, Ph.D., M.D.
Veterans Administration Medical Center/University of California, San Diego

Dean Ho, Ph.D.
UCLA Division of Oral Biology and Medicine and
KYAN Therapeutics

Rob Howes, Ph.D.*

William Janzen, Ph.D.

Daniel Kamei, Ph.D.
University of California, Los Angeles

Katy Kettleborough

Deok-Ho Kim
University of Washington

Gary Kramer, Ph.D.

Jörg Kutter, Ph.D.
University of Copenhagen

Jonathan A. Lee, Ph.D.
Eli Lilly and Company

Melanie Leveridge

Ricardo Macarron, Ph.D.

Julio Martin, Ph.D.*

Lorenz Mayr, Ph.D.

Jonathan O'Connell
FORMA Therapeutics

Christian Parker, Ph.D.
Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research Inc.

David Pechter, Ph.D.
Pechter Technologies

Shalini Prasad, Ph.D.
University of Texas, Dallas

Stephen Rees

Mark Russo, Ph.D.
Bristol-Myers Squibb

Louis Scampavia
Scripps Research

Craig Schulz, Ph.D.

Ian Shuttler, Ph.D.*

Peter Simpson
Medicines Discovery Catapult

Daniel Sipes
The Genomics Institute of the Novartis Research Foundation

Prof. Timothy Spicer
The Scripps Research Institute

James D. Sterling, Ph.D.
Keck Graduate Institute

Paul Taylor
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals Inc.

Cathy Tralau-Stewart, Ph.D.

Dana Vanderwall, Ph.D.
Bristol-Myers Squibb

Sabeth Verpoorte, Ph.D.
University of Groningen

Fabien Vincent, Ph.D.

Aaron Wheeler, Ph.D.
University of Toronto

Jonathan Wingfield, Ph.D.*

Pak Kin Wong, Ph.D.
Pennsylvania State University

Andy Zaayenga

Zhenggrong Zhu

SLAS Fellow Member Prerequisites

To earn an invitation to become an SLAS Fellow Member, candidates must meet several prerequisites:

  • Candidate must possess five (5) years professional experience after terminal degree/post-graduate training

  • Candidate must have at least three (3) consecutive years as a dues-paying SLAS member (or membership by contribution)

  • Candidates must have accrued at least five (5) points in technical content and volunteer service contribution to the Society, with at least one point from each of the categories:
    • Technical Content Contribution: Candidate must have contributed technical content to the greater SLAS community by way of a podium presentation(s) at an SLAS event, delivering a SLAS technical webinar and/or authoring a manuscript published in one of SLAS’s scientific journals

    • Volunteer Service Contribution: Candidate must have served SLAS in an official volunteer leader/contributor capacity on select organizational committees including the SLAS Board of Directors, an SLAS Regional Council, Nominating Committee, Scientific Planning Advisory Committee, Journal Editorial Boards, Conference Program Planning Committee – Conference Chairs, Track Chairs and Session Chairs included.

See the table below for point values associated with content and service contributions.

What SLAS Fellow Members Receive

In addition to well-deserved and prestigious recognition, SLAS Fellow Members receive a host of exclusive benefits:

  • Premier Plus Member benefits, including subscriptions and online access to both of SLAS’s Scientific Journals
  • Recognition at annual SLAS international conference and exhibition
  • Invitation to special event at annual SLAS international conference and exhibition
  • SLAS Fellow Member Certificate
  • SLAS Fellow Member lapel pin
  • Perpetual inclusion on the listing of SLAS Fellow Members on
  • Ability to use the SLAS Fellow Member logo in personal e-mail and on curriculum vitae

Ongoing Requirements of SLAS Fellow Members

SLAS Fellow Members are required to pay SLAS membership dues annually.


Please contact SLAS Membership Senior Manager Mary Geismann with any questions or to check your current eligibility toward becoming an SLAS Fellow Member.

SLAS Fellow Members – Content and Service Contribution Requirements

5 total points, with at least one from content contribution and one from volunteer service activities, are required to earn an invitation to become an SLAS Fellow Member. Questions on your current status? Contact Mary Geismann at SLAS Headquarters.

Content – Technical Presentations (1 point per) Content – Journal Manuscripts or Issue Guest Editor (2 points per) Service – Volunteer Leadership (2 points per role)
  • Delivered Podium Presentation at SLAS conference
  • Delivered SLAS Technical Webinar
  • Served as Short Course Instructor at SLAS conference
  • Served as corresponding author of accepted manuscript accepted for publication in SLAS scientific journal (JBS or JALA)
  • Served as Guest Editor of entire issue of SLAS scientific journal (JBS or JALA)

Served volunteer leadership position in significant SLAS committee/ oversight entity:

  • Board of Directors
  • Regional Council
  • Nominating Committee
  • Scientific Planning Advisory Committee
  • Journal Editorial Board
  • Conference Program Planning Committee
    • Chair/Co-Chair
    • Track Chair & Assistant Track Chair/Co-Chair